Skip to content

Sleeping Beauty–I Wish

07/11/2011

All I seem to be able to do is sleep. I get up and do a few things and then lay down and sleep again. My head hurts, my eyes hurts, I don’t want to feel this way, I want to be able to get things done and be a good example for my kids. and I am not doing either. I am having nightmares/flashbacks again and talking in my sleep. This is steps backwards again.

I started taking Topamax several months ago, started at 25mg, then to 50mg after 2 months, then to 100 mg. I seemed to be  fine, It on top of my Lamictal seemed to be leveling me off into a better place. it was also helping with the migraines, my head wasn’t hurting on a daily basis. Then I had a killer Migraine, 3 days, lots of migraine meds and Vicodin. then 5 days after that, a visit to the psychiatrist who insisted that with the PTSD, anxiety and slight depression issues she “had” to put me on an antidepressant or be considered negligent. (I am seen by a state clinic, and the files are reviewed due to huge problems, she can be written up for not addressing my symptoms) I told her I would not take it until I had spoken to both my primary care doc and therapist. They both agreed it would be a good idea to give it a try. I have looked at the side effects, sleepiness/drowsiness can be a side effect. The same with the Topomax. I have cut back to 50mg on the Topamax. I have been on the generic Celexa for 2 weeks and things aren’t improving. I called this morning, I have an appointment with my primary care doc on Thursday, which is unusually long wait, I can normally get in the same day. Don’t know what is up with this long delay. I have an appointment with therapist tomorrow.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 07/18/2011 12:55 am

    Hi

    I do hope you’re feeling a little better sweets. Meds can be a nightmare. I react really badly to anti-depressants: Mania mainly. Hope you’ve not reacted in the same way.
    You could link this up at monday madness if you’re around. A lot of us can understand what you’re dealing with at the moment. http://wordsinsync.blogspot.com/2011/07/monday-madness-linky-addiction-10-new.html

    I suffered PTSD?bipolar disorder/anxiety. My meds stopped me having ‘episodes’ for a while and I hope once I’m off the meds (I’m withdrawing at the moment – m body need a break from all the side-effects and I’ve been stable for around around five years) they will remain gone.
    Shah. X

  2. DLW permalink
    07/22/2011 3:05 am

    Hi! I really hope you are feeling better. Meds suck. But they can also help. I hope your doctors have found a good combination for you by now. Post again soon and let us know how you’re doing!

  3. 08/01/2011 6:46 am

    It’s that time of the week again – Monday Madness airs a FRESH new linky to begin the week – Pop along if you’re about and link this song up if you like?

    Shah X

    http://wordsinsync.blogspot.com/2011/08/fresh-monday-madness-linky-plus-poem.html

Let me know what you think of my post, good, bad and otherwise. I am always interested to hear what you have to say.

The Persistent Platypus

Life's journey may not always be easy, but being true to your unique self and finding laughter in the small things makes the adventure unforgettable!

Straight Talk on Managing Bipolar Disorder

A website for bestselling author and bipolar expert, Julie A. Fast

Who needs normal?!

Ramblings from a crazy, cluttered mind...

A Depressed Mormon Mommy

Being LDS, BiPolar and Living Life

Depressed (but not unhappy) Mormon Mommy

Being LDS, BiPolar and Living Life

PPD Turned Bipolar Mom

Trying to stay happy on a rollercoaster of mental illness...

Through Another Lens

A WordPress.com site looking at Christian and non Christian news, culture etc, from an independent Christian viewpoint. Don't run after reading the word 'Christian'! Give it a chance, then run if you want ;-)

Bipolar Jane

STIGMA: Randomly sinking, treading or swimming...

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

