Skip to content

How do you Ground Yourself or Self-Soothe in Times of Stress?

06/23/2011
Ideas Challenge

Image via Wikipedia

This is something that I really struggle with in the best of times,and when I really need the techniques I tend to fall flat on my face and things end up worse than they need to be.

I have lots of little 3 x 5 cards that have ideas written on them, but the notes do not seem to be enough to trigger what I need to do. I have taken a DBT class but missed the module that I probably needed the most because by the time the class got to it I was out of money and had pushed myself past where I could function and get anything out of a session because I was dissasociating so consistently for most of the class time.

Ideas????

4 Comments leave one →
  1. DLW permalink
    06/25/2011 4:56 am

    I find self-soothing difficult too! I also have taken DBT and I can never seem to remember what to do when I’m feeling lousy. However, the things that generally help me are listening to music and going for walks. Also, I’m a musician and sometimes playing my instrument can help me feel better. Hope this helps a little!

  2. 07/14/2011 11:56 am

    http://wordsinsync.blogspot.com/#uds-search-results = If you follow this link you’ll find several articles tackling stress on my blog. Hoping they might help- or perhaps a comment left by a respondent?

    Me? I am suffering rather nasty anxiety at the moment – a side-effect of withdrawal from my meds. It will have to just be until it stops tbh. There’s nothing I can do to stop it – Distraction s help a little – being busy – getting out and about. I use smell (calming oils aromatherapy) and music, and visuals and imagination stimulus (movies and reading). They all have there potency, but in the end it’s all about trying to remain in the here and now with subtle mantra reminders and the people around us – these are some of my way of maintaining a sense of control.

    Thanks so much for linking up – hopefully you’ll get more feedback when the linky is up on my blog again on Monday.

    Stay in touch. Shah .x

  3. 07/18/2011 9:24 am

    This is a tough one. A lavender eye pillow works wonders for me. I also enjoy listening to audio-books on tape. This probably sounds juvenile but I also love colouring with Copic markers, in fact I call it ‘therapy!’ A hot bubbly bath, a cup of favourite tea, it’s intensely personal really. I have a hoodie that my son left in the closet when he left home and I wear it when I am missing him the most. When you think of something write it down immediately so you don’t forget it. Good luck!

Trackbacks

  1. Monday Madness Linky PLUS Poem: Cyclic Swimming | Shah Wharton's WordsinSync

Let me know what you think of my post, good, bad and otherwise. I am always interested to hear what you have to say.

The Persistent Platypus

Life's journey may not always be easy, but being true to your unique self and finding laughter in the small things makes the adventure unforgettable!

Straight Talk on Managing Bipolar Disorder

A website for bestselling author and bipolar expert, Julie A. Fast

Who needs normal?!

Ramblings from a crazy, cluttered mind...

A Depressed Mormon Mommy

Being LDS, BiPolar and Living Life

Depressed (but not unhappy) Mormon Mommy

Being LDS, BiPolar and Living Life

PPD Turned Bipolar Mom

Trying to stay happy on a rollercoaster of mental illness...

Through Another Lens

A WordPress.com site looking at Christian and non Christian news, culture etc, from an independent Christian viewpoint. Don't run after reading the word 'Christian'! Give it a chance, then run if you want ;-)

Bipolar Jane

STIGMA: Randomly sinking, treading or swimming...

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

