Skip to content

Tearing Down the Wall One Brick at a Time

04/21/2011

There are many walls I would like to tear down, one is my fear of “coming out” about my mental illness. I watch and hear what is said by the media, by people at the store, at church, at schools, just about anywhere you can imagine. I would say 90% of what you hear is negative. Mental Illness has a bad rap. And, guilt by association gives my life a bad rap. And, I haven’t even gone public, a choice few know of my struggles, some gloss over it and pretend it doesn’t exist, others are supportive, some want to be supportive and just don’t know what to do or say, some are supportive until I become too needy and as a result they push away from our relationship, and there are those who flat out look at you like you just turned green with purple spots and sprouted horns and run for their lives.

The very first wall I have had to tear down is allowing myself to accept my diagnosis, accept that this is one of my trials, accept that it makes me different from others, and accept that it is an invisible disability. The bricks of this wall came down slowly, and sometimes one would come down and two would go back up. There have been many times when I built that wall higher and stronger than it was before to protect myself, until I can slowly start to tear it down again.

Me

No comments yet

Let me know what you think of my post, good, bad and otherwise. I am always interested to hear what you have to say.

The Persistent Platypus

Life's journey may not always be easy, but being true to your unique self and finding laughter in the small things makes the adventure unforgettable!

Straight Talk on Managing Bipolar Disorder

A website for bestselling author and bipolar expert, Julie A. Fast

Who needs normal?!

Ramblings from a crazy, cluttered mind...

A Depressed Mormon Mommy

Being LDS, BiPolar and Living Life

Depressed (but not unhappy) Mormon Mommy

Being LDS, BiPolar and Living Life

PPD Turned Bipolar Mom

Trying to stay happy on a rollercoaster of mental illness...

Through Another Lens

A WordPress.com site looking at Christian and non Christian news, culture etc, from an independent Christian viewpoint. Don't run after reading the word 'Christian'! Give it a chance, then run if you want ;-)

Bipolar Jane

STIGMA: Randomly sinking, treading or swimming...

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

